Be schooled on unmanaged affairs

The honeymoon of two years came to a seemingly abrupt end, though I knew it was coming all along. Apparently decent grades are a deal breaker. I ignored all the signs. We live apart now. IIM B is no longer the place to be. The parting was painful. Graduation day provided no closure.

The withdrawal symptoms have kicked in. I’ve used every conceivable excuse in the book to go back to IIM B. I compulsively scour facebook and other assorted social networking sites for any tidbits of information on IIMB.  The symptoms of my peculiar neurosis also include pathetically replaying the events of the past two years in an endless loop and gazing adoringly at pictures of b school friends (contrary to popular perceptions b school friends are not unicorns)

I creepily lurk around the premises. I fear a restraining order is in order. I take comfort in flashing my alum card and I’m allowed to slip in by the occasional unwary guard who is oblivious to the existence of institutional stalkers. So maybe we’re still friends. I happen to gatecrash L^2 parties and other such non-events, so maybe we’re friends with benefits. But without the learning, it’s just not the real deal.  I have so far managed to resist the urge to gatecrash classes or beg the professors to take me back.

Even before the relationship ended, I had  started looking frantically for a new relationship. Maybe it’s too early to tell but my dalliances with other institutions (especially of the corporate variety) are not quite what I want it to be. They provide for me but I don’t need a sugar daddy. I’ve never been in it for the dough.  Sometimes I wonder if they are my type.  Maybe my expectations are too high or maybe I haven’t moved on. I’ve been chided for the latter. Some unfinished buiness this school has proven to be. I casually flirted with the idea of applying to firang educational institutions more prestigious than you-know-which one. But I’m beginning to doubt I’ll ever feel that way again. I’ve considered seeing a shrink to kick the habit. I had the time of life at b school so I guess it will always be a love triangle.

Interventions by friends and family proved to be futile. Then again I don’t think its just denial, its love.  Get over it. But oh! the void. This needs a more radical intervention…i shd check myself into a rehab for b schoolholics. No more the quoting of inane love phrases from candy floss romcoms which sound all the more ridiculous when taken out of their context. But IIM B you complete me.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Be schooled on unmanaged affairs

  1. Pratap says:

    All the emotions are poured in those few lines .. nice one !

  2. bschoolholics..haha nice one

  3. Fantastic Shreya! It’s so amazing that we all feel the same, though we are from different BSchools.. the post B-School withdrawal problems 😀

  4. Satprem says:

    Wonderful read for those who feel the same. Hey U always told me you love B but never knew the bond was so strong. Anyway,looking forward to reading your creative endeavours

  5. Lord Chaos says:

    Boy I am so alien to such feelings….does not compute!

Leave a comment